National Technical University of Athens, School of Mechanical Engineering
Section of Manufacturing Technology

The National Technical University of Athens (NTUA) is the oldest, largest and arguably the most prestigious Technical University in Greece. It was founded in 1836 and comprises of 9 academic Schools, and about 1100 employees of which around 500 Faculty members, covering all major engineering specializations, as well as engineering science. There are in total about 8500 undergraduate and 1500 graduate students.

The School of Mechanical Engineering was established in 1914 and comprises 6 Sections, amongst them the Section of Manufacturing Technology. The latter focuses on manufacturing technology / manufacturing automation, computer-aided product-process development, manufacturing systems and engineering materials. It currently comprises of 9 members of Faculty, Senior Engineers and Research Assistants, 3 member of technical and administration personnel and 18 PhD candidates.

Section of Manufacturing Technology provides undergraduate teaching in 16 manufacturing and materials related subjects in the Mechanical Engineering curriculum of NTUA, as well as post-graduate teaching in 4 subjects.

The Section has participated so far in around 60 European and national funded research and technology transfer programmes with a multi-million euro cumulative budget.

Last but not least, the Manufacturing Technology Section is supported by the Manufacturing Technology Laboratory, with an area of 3000 m2 and equipment spanning the whole range of Manufacturing Processes and Manufacturing Systems.

Building I

main room 1